Thread: Anyone ever take a ZT 0500 MUDD apart?

Anyone ever take a ZT 0500 MUDD apart?

ADVERTISEMENT
    I've been using my 0500 of and on for the last several years. Love the knife, can't say a bad thing about it. It's one of my favorites and one of my heavy use go to knives. Problem is, I want to take it a part and give it a good cleaning and lube, but I don't know how to take the pivot apart. I'd love to see some pics of one taken apart and some advice on the pivot would be appreciated. Thanks.
    I don't even hear what your saying right now cause your face is driving me nuts.

I would love to see what the inside of a 500 looks like. Some one please post pictures.

Quote Originally Posted by whateatsrabbits View Post
    I would love to see what the inside of a 500 looks like. Some one please post pictures.
    That should have been my post. Thanks.
    I don't even hear what your saying right now cause your face is driving me nuts.

I'd love to see one apart but it seems the whole point of it was to not need taken apart for cleaning. Over the years has it developed some stickiness in the action?

I have seen pics somewhere of it apart, wish I could remember where. Unless like Kyle alluded to its gotten sticky in the lock area, realy no need to take it apart. Just a good hot n soapy bath should suffice.

Quote Originally Posted by oregonknifenerd View Post
    Over the years has it developed some stickiness in the action?
    No, it's as smooth as the day I got it. I've even carried it over the course of a tough Mudder race. Different post. No blade play, smooth as glass. That only increases my curiosity to see the insides.

Think of it like a Rolex. Best left to the professionals. I wouldn't mess with it no matter how much you want to see the insides.
    Wanted: Kershaw Blue Breakout 7000BL, Kershaw First Production Skyline, Buck 651 Intruder Pig Sticker, Benchmade 740 Dejavoo