Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: GEC # 15 Boys Knife Suggestions

Question GEC # 15 Boys Knife Suggestions

ADVERTISEMENT
    Hello,

I am new to Blade Forums, and new to Traditonal Folders. I love my modern tactical folders, but with winter comming I feel like a traditional knife would be a nice change. I am expecting my first baby in December, so this will be my last knife purchase for awhile. With that being said I am interested in purchasing a GEC # 15 Boys knife in Ebony, the only problem I am having is choosing between the spear point and pen blade combo or just the single spear point blade. Most of my daily cutting tasks are light duty ie opening mail, boxes, and maybe cutting an apple or steak. Originally I was leaning towards the spear and pen blade combo, I feel it seems a bit more gentleman like having the option of two blades (right tool for the job) the other part of me seems like I would be fine with just the one blade. Any opinions or suggestions would be great, I am looking to pull the trigger and purchase one in the next few days. Thanks in advance for the comments.

I have one of each. The single is slim and works for my dress knife, the two blade I use for generally everything, whether garden, cutting food, or the pen for cleaning my nails, or small jobs. it's a little heavier but not much. Either way you go...I think you'll be glad you did. One of my best knifes I own. Perfect walk and talk.

Congratulations on the first baby!

The two blade 15s are very nice and IMO a great choice for a gentleman's knife. The single blade 15 is nice and slim but this pattern is compact and rather easy to carry anyway so the difference between the one and two blade versions is negligible, even in slacks.

FWIW, I opted for the clip and pen version myself because I tend to prefer clips in general but also because it seemed to me that the spear and pen were too much alike. The variation of the clip and pen seemed to me to be more versatile.