Thread: Arizona knife laws

Arizona knife laws

ADVERTISEMENT

I'm new to BladeForums and this is my first post, so, hello to all. I'm trying to find out the knife laws for Arizona if anyone can tell me. I know this state is pretty generous in the firearms-carry law department. But what about edged weapons? What's legal? What's illegal? Your help is greatly appreciated.

------------------

Kevan "Raven" Taylor-Perry

Hi Raven.
    Welcome to Arizona.
    Sorry I'm so late in replying, but I just came across your post.

While no one can explain ALL of the laws, especially considering the constant state of flux and the many "interpretations" of them by those directly concerned with them, there ARE a few basic things you should know. I'm not by any stretch of the imagination a lawyer, but HAVE had some encounters with the law in AZ from both sides. I've also made it a point to learn as much as I can, not onbly about the laws themselves, but of the average LEO's viewpoint on them, since many of my friends are LEOs. Hopefully they'll be of some help to you.

First of all, knives are generally not distinguished from other tools that CAN be used as weapons, except in their capability in that role. Accordingly, automatic knives, for example, are legal except that they may not be carried "concealed" absent a CCW permit.

The legal definitions of "carrying" and "concealed" are quite broad in AZ, and have in most cases been subjected to rulings that have rendered them to the advantage of the average lawful citizen. For example, an object determined to be a weapon, like a firearm, for example, is NOT considered being "carried" for legal purposes, if it is in "luggage". A "briefcase" has passed the legal test of being considered "luggage". Ironically, a woman's purse has failed that definition.