Thread: Treasure Hunting Knife

Treasure Hunting Knife

ADVERTISEMENT
    I am just getting into a new hobby, metal detecting, otherwise known as coin shooting or relic hunting. Basically this involves using a metal detector to find buried coins, jewerly, relics, etc. Most of my hunts will be on soil not sandy beaches. So I am wondering what knife you would recommend. I will be using the knife to cut through grass and digging the soil. I currently have a Cold Steel SRK and Glock Field knife. Any recommendations from those of you who are treasure hunters or recommendations for a knife that's going to get a lot of abuse. Thanks.

Hate to say it bro. but you will get more use out of a garden trowell than any blade.

I would second the trowel suggestion. If you really need to have something sharp (and you should, anyway) I would suggest a decent pair of pruners to cut vines, and a cheap fixed blade like a Frosts plastic-handle mora (<$10), or an Ontario military-style knife.

As the above posts suggest, I also recommend a garden trowel.

IMHO, knives are made for one purpose and that is to cut.

I have trowel that I will be using, but many metal detector users use a knife as an additional tool to cut through grass, roots, etc. and then use the trowel to do the bulk of the digging. I think the SRK will be tough enough to handle most tasks I throw at it.

Ok a SRK would work, and I am from the old school of use it not show it, but why wreck a knife when it is not needed.

Some tools are out there and they are useful combination of trowell and knife, but it is still the trowell that will cut sod more effectively, and neater than the Srk. You will gouge, chip, and bust up a great knife . Just use the trowell, if ya do feel the need for a knife the Mora is the only one that I would suggest. This is due to it only being 10$ and I would not care about beating the hell out of its blade.

So it can be the trowell for 3$ or a 50$ SRK.

Knife