Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Getting a 90 volt dc motor running?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Florida Panhandle, bout 35 miles east of Pensacola
    Posts
    5,855

    Getting a 90 volt dc motor running?


    ADVERTISEMENT
    I have a 90 volt dc motor that I'm built a horizontal lap sander with. All I need to do is get the thing wired.
    My question is, what do I need to hook it up?
    I have a dc motor controller but I got to thinking.
    This is a single speed geared motor so why waste a variable speed controller on it.
    Can't I just wire it up with a rectifier and transformer and off and on switch?
    Anyone have experiance with this type of thing or know where I can find the items needed to rig it?
    Thanks up front folks!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Central California
    Posts
    907
    Michael,

    I won't pretend to know the answer from experience or a swell list of academic credentials. But I'd say yes without worry to using a transformer and bridge rectifier, given that all of them are rated for that much current. A large electolytic capacitor might help smooth the current more, but I don't think that's important with motors. (I hope an electronics guy pipes in, because this is a great idea.)

    In fact I wish I'd thought of this.

    I have hooked mine up to a car battery. Runs quite well.

    Steve

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Cottonwood,AZ,USA
    Posts
    5,548
    I have a 90VDC gearmotor out in the shop. It was/is connected to VS controls. It was hooked up that way from the factory, on the equipment it was in. So you might just want to use that DC control.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    341
    If one of you has a burned out controller (burned componenets....not board), I would be happy to reverse engineer the thing for you and duplicate it. This would make replacement alot cheaper since the components are pennies to a dollar or so, and the boards are easy enough to make.



    I am not sure how the transformer/rectifier thing would work, but sounds plausible to me.

    Doc

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Bentonville, Arkansas, United States
    Posts
    20,820
    Doc - are you saying you could duplicate the board at cost + your labor?

    If so, I have a spare VDC controller board I could send you (will need a week to get it ready first).

    Do you know if it's possible to increase the amperage it can handle? (from 11 to say....16?) Just curious...maybe it's too difficult...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    341
    I can look at it and see if I can up the ante on current capability. It should not be too difficult, but without looking I don't know.

    You can call me this weekend, and we can discuss the whole thing...256.883.8611 and ask for Doc. The cost should be cheap enough, and if I can get more than one to make at a time the cost should get cheaper as I can etch the boards in multiples.....

    If you want to up the power though we may have to do some back and forth on the thing till we get the bugs worked out, but it shouldn't be too bad.

    Doc

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Bentonville, Arkansas, United States
    Posts
    20,820

    Thumbs up

    email sent.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    West Virginia
    Posts
    4,579
    Michael,

    You'll need a hefty transformer to provide the HP. Provided, with a full wave rectifier it will work but your DC voltage will be something greater than the transformers AC RMS output. Use the DC motor drive instead. You'll like being able to make the grinder crawl at times.

    RL

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •