Thread: EKA knives, opinions?

EKA knives, opinions?

ADVERTISEMENT
    I have the Nordic T8 (folder). I like this knife and I use it all the time. For the last year or so this small folder is actually the only knife I use with some regularity.

I am now thinking about getting the Nordic H8 (fixed blade), has anyone here experience with it? Are there better offers out there, I tend to get a little home-blind when it comes to knives.

What's your general view on the EKA knifes?

We get some of the US knifes over here but not a lot so I have limited experience with them.

BTW: Check their combined gutter/knife called Nordic E8 Combi. If I was a hunter I'd get one right away.

Link: http://www.eka-knivar.se/index.asp?lang=UK

//Jay
    Last edited by JayAndersson; 11-30-2006 at 11:59 AM. Reason: Forgot the link

I have a T8 and a Mauser from EKA. IMHO you can't go wrong with their knives. They make a great product. Check out ragweedforge.com for good prices on EKA knives.

Hi, Jay. I've been considering the H8 myself, and so bought one of the EKA compact folders just to see what I thought of the steel, maybe get a feel for EKA's products generally. IMO it's a well-made and innovative product. EKA's blade grind in particular is excellent, full flat and quite thin behind the edge, and with a full distal taper. I assume the H8's grind would be similar.

Interestingly I was doing some more testing of this knife yesterday and found that with a slightly more obtuse edge geometry than I had been using -- had been at 10 degs/side with a 15 deg. microbevel, increased that to 12 and 17 respectively -- edge retention is radically improved. So if this knife is typical, EKA seems to give their blades a high quality heat treatment, as it shows better edge retention cutting cardboard than Spyderco's VG-10, Bark River's A2, and even the Frosts laminated carbon steel blades I have.