Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 49

Thread: Is This A Good Blade?

  1. #1

    Is This A Good Blade?


    Sponsored Ad
    Remove ads and support BladeForums.com!
    Is the Xacliber Silver spring assist knife a good knife?

    http://www.assistedknife.com/index.c...id/0/id/323772

  2. #2
    How could it not be? It's endorsed by MCPoeticTendency!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    974
    Yes, it is a bad knife. It has bad steel and materials and will not keep an edge. Might I recommend a kershaw leek? They are a screaming deal at a GREAT price, and can be had at walmart for a wonderful price.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Location
    Sherwood, OR
    Posts
    28,495
    Is it a good knife? I doubt it.

    Is the design a ripoff? Yes.

    Should you buy one? No.

    The website in question also fails just about every test of legitimacy: no actual person's name, no explaination of ownership, no real e-mail address, no street address, no phone number. The domain name was registered less than two weeks ago... and is probably just the latest in a long series of throw-away names used by the owner; register a name, use it for a few months until the name gets a bad rep, then throw it away and pick out a new one. The domain registration gives a yahoo e-mail address, probably another throw-away. The domain registration gives a phone number that's listed to True Mt Zion Holiness Church in Houston, TX. And get this: The registrant's postal address is a vacant, for-sale house in North haven, CT, your's for $334,900... move-in ready; you can take a video tour of assistedknife.com via the links below.

    The website itself is hosted on a discount web-shopping ISP.

    http://www.whois.net/whois_new.cgi?d...dknife&tld=com
    http://www.trulia.com/property/10466...Haven-CT-06473
    http://www.revver.com/video/681131/h...ouse-for-sale/
    http://www.shoppal.com/
    Last edited by Gollnick; 03-08-2008 at 04:05 PM.
    Balisongs -- because it don't mean a thing if it ain't got that swing!
    http://www.balisongcollector.com


  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by ThinkOfTheChildren View Post
    How could it not be? It's endorsed by MCPoeticTendency!
    lol, it's kinda hard to tell sarcasim from a post on a thread,

    but are u being sarcastic?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    974
    Yes, he was being sarcastic.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 1998
    Location
    The 7 Seas
    Posts
    46,625
    Let’s see if we can find the right forum …

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by Gollnick View Post
    Is it a good knife? I doubt it.

    Is the design a ripoff? Yes.

    Should you buy one? No.

    The website in question also fails just about every test of legitimacy: no actual person's name, no explaination of ownership, no real e-mail address, no street address, no phone number. The domain name was registered less than two weeks ago... and is probably just the latest in a long series of throw-away names used by the owner; register a name, use it for a few months until the name gets a bad rep, then throw it away and pick out a new one. The domain registration gives a yahoo e-mail address, probably another throw-away. The domain registration gives a phone number that's listed to True Mt Zion Holiness Church in Houston, TX. And get this: The registrant's postal address is a vacant, for-sale house in North haven, CT, your's for $334,900... move-in ready; you can take a video tour of assistedknife.com via the links below.

    The website itself is hosted on a discount web-shopping ISP.

    http://www.whois.net/whois_new.cgi?d...dknife&tld=com
    http://www.trulia.com/property/10466...Haven-CT-06473
    http://www.revver.com/video/681131/h...ouse-for-sale/
    http://www.shoppal.com/

    So it wouldn't be a good idea to buy anything from the site?

    Like it would rip me off or something??

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    986
    With so many honest dealers on the web why take the risk? Try 1sks, New Graham, Knifecenter, Knifeworks, etc.
    "I don't think, I know!" "I don't think you know either."

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    california
    Posts
    19,827
    Quote Originally Posted by 0billie0joe0 View Post
    So it wouldn't be a good idea to buy anything from the site?

    Like it would rip me off or something??
    you will probably get what you order,

    but you will get what you order. if you catch my drift....


    i would count on that particular knife to have significant blade play, poor lock up, and a marginal action. autos have little parts in them and are under spring tension (usually), and if proper care is not taken in design and assembly you are gonna have problems.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    South East corner of Oz
    Posts
    11,650
    Quote Originally Posted by 0billie0joe0 View Post
    So it wouldn't be a good idea to buy anything from the site?

    Like it would rip me off or something??
    After reading Gollnick's excellent analysis, you still need to ask this?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    974
    Just trust us on this pal, do NOT buy from there, do not get that knife.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    HOME!
    Posts
    3,972
    It's a nice knife. You can stick it in a rock, and He Who Pulls It Out will be KING!
    Last edited by Jos; 03-09-2008 at 07:47 AM.

  14. #14
    In response to my post about MCPoeticTendency and his great professionalism in the realm of blades:
    Quote Originally Posted by 0billie0joe0 View Post
    but are u being sarcastic?
    In response to Gollnick's informative analysis of a now obvious fly-by-night website:
    Quote Originally Posted by 0billie0joe0 View Post
    So it wouldn't be a good idea to buy anything from the site? Like it would rip me off or something??
    At this point, I can only figure that you are either messing with us all, or you are the densest person I can recently recall interacting with.

    Perhaps you shouldn't be purchasing sharp objects at all.

  15. #15
    Quote Originally Posted by ThinkOfTheChildren View Post
    In response to my post about MCPoeticTendency and his great professionalism in the realm of blades:

    In response to Gollnick's informative analysis of a now obvious fly-by-night website:


    At this point, I can only figure that you are either messing with us all, or you are the densest person I can recently recall interacting with.

    Perhaps you shouldn't be purchasing sharp objects at all.
    Well man, I understand NOW not to get anything from the site,

    Thanks everyone, I woulda have made a big mistake lol

  16. #16
    Made in China

  17. #17
    Quote Originally Posted by Dragon_Man View Post
    With so many honest dealers on the web why take the risk? Try 1sks, New Graham, Knifecenter, Knifeworks, etc.

    All right, i'll look at these sites,

    Thanks

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    The Land of Smiles
    Posts
    2,483
    Quote Originally Posted by 0billie0joe0 View Post
    All right, i'll look at these sites,

    Thanks
    You won't find the XCALIBER at those sites.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    kentucky
    Posts
    356
    if the shipping cost more than the knife , it most likely isn't a good knife. Is it worth the money may be a better question .

  20. #20

    Sponsored Ad
    Remove ads and support BladeForums.com!
    I think i'm going to go for a Benchmade Griptilian 551 now.

    I'll see if anyone in Canada is ever going to sell one lol. Whats the chance of it getting across the border??

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •