Thread: Sharpening the Emerson Karambits

Sharpening the Emerson Karambits

ADVERTISEMENT
    I have a Combat Karambit I carry every day, without fail, but I can't get it really sharp no matter what I try: JewelStiks, the Sharpmaker, Japanese water stones, etc. It has a broken tip from being dropped onto tile and I got it shaving sharp (barely), but I'd like it scary sharp while maintaining the chisel grind and with a nice, sharp point.

Anyone have any suggestions on who I can send it to without the BT coating getting worn off? Emerson wants to charge me an arm and a leg to get it sharpened since I live outside the US.

I found this thread on another page and Haze lists a couple of people who may be able to do it.

http://www.bladeforums.com/forums/sh...d.php?t=734975

I dont know if it will be any use to you...but Glockfire also did the same thing. I wonder how fragile these things are that a drop shatters the tip :S. Perhaps the SuperKarambit has a slightly thicker blade compared to the Combat model but I am going to follow your advice from yesterday anyway...tell us non Americans how it goes eh? It might be useful in case I do the same thing.

Thanks Armalite! Well, it was one heck of a tip, so I'm not surprised it broke. I definitely wouldn't want to do that with my Spyderco Karambit--that bad boy has a needle tip.

I actually live in South-East Asia btw.

Got in touch with KnifeKnut. Looks like I might have to part with my Emerson for a few weeks. It's like being away from the woman I love.

HHAHA cool I am glad you worked it out. I just emailed customs to see if I can import one without hassle....and save myself over 100 dollars. I will keep you posted as to how it goes.

Interesting on SE Asia - we are kind of next door to each other.
    Cheers,
    A