Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: CPM 3V. Is it the perfect steel?

CPM 3V. Is it the perfect steel?

ADVERTISEMENT
    I am just learning about steel. I have recently come across CPM 3V. If I can believe what I read, this stuff is just about the best steel there is...assuming it is heat treated correctly. Now I know it is hard to work with and hard to heat treat but once done, as a user, there sounds like none better.

Is this the Holy Grail of Steel? Is there none better? Does it do everything well up to an include hold of rust to some degree (not being a stainless steel technically)?

Best steel for what?

A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away..
    If you want to call something 'best' in its category, you need a list of criteria for this. Why is CPM-3V the best steel for you? If you want toughness, you might be spot-on.

Well that's where I am going. Folks seem to think it is best period...no criteria necessary. That is why I made this post. Maybe I am reading stuff from the chopping folks? The competion cutter types? Hard core bushcrafting?

Bushcrafting is going to be where I would come in. Koster makes one.

So let's say bushcrafting.

Quote Originally Posted by HoosierQ View Post
    Well that's where I am going. Folks seem to think it is best period...no criteria necessary. That is why I made this post. Maybe I am reading stuff from the chopping folks? The competion cutter types? Hard core bushcrafting?

Bushcrafting is going to be where I would come in. Koster makes one.

So let's say bushcrafting.
    It's a good steel, but I wouldn't say it's the best in any category, it's up there in some though like for choppers.

Ok. I appreciate the input. And I understand the skepticism with which my post was viewed. And that is where I was coming from. Surely, there is no "magic steel"...and this is not it. It does sound like a very tough customer though.

It also has wear resistance similar to D2 and a decent level of corrosion resistance.