Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Strider concerns

Cool Strider concerns

ADVERTISEMENT
    I am concerned about the break in period for a Strider SMF.
    First of all do they actually get easier to unlock the blade over time? If so, obviously I realize it depends on the usage, but does this take days, weeks, or months? Are there cases when they don't break in? Secondly, which would be better oil, fluorinated grease or neither to help action? And finially since I am new to this I was wondering if once you oil or grease a knife and that area appears black should this be wiped off or left on? My instincts tell me to wipe off?

Blog Entries
    If the knife is a user, I don't worry about oil marking the metal.

A framelock can be hard to unlock when the metal to metal contact of titanium to steel galls. Take a pencil and scribble on the lockface to lubricate it. This should eliminate a lot of the stiffness.

The pivot action will break in pretty quickly. I disassemble and wipe down the parts with Tuff-Cloth. This cleans out any grit that might have collected in there.

Blog Entries

Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by RevDevil View Post
    Read through this
    Awesome. TMI !!!

Blog Entries

they smooth out over time,strider does not use washers so it is g-10 to metal..

Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by THE PUNISHER View Post
    Wot?
    Maybe your does not have them, but both my SnG and PT do.

Esav and RevDevil,

Thanks - I will try the suggestions. I am new to bladeforums and just now starting a small personal collection of knives. I definitely have gotten the bug!

Blog Entries
    both mine SNG and SMF do have bronze washers .

Having voided the warranty by disassembling, cleaning and re-lubing my SnG, I can confirm that it has two PB washers.