Thread: Home forging and Heat Treat...

Home forging and Heat Treat...

ADVERTISEMENT
    Obvious Newbie here guys so bare with me..

I looked at the sticky's and there is a ton of info there that I will check out later, for now I have a couple questions..

I'm looking to make my first knife

I'm using 1095 and 5160 as my first attempt, should I try another steel first? something easier to play with?? less expensive etc, say a file for example??

I've done some research on making a home made forge, some like a bbq, fireblock, and even a paint can.. I'm looking for something functional and effective that will last while, because if my first couple knives go okay I can see this feeding my addiction...

also after forging, can I use my home oven to temper? how many times do I temper, how long, what temp?

I have many questions but will follow the sticky's before I slam you guys with a newbie question rant
    BeckerHead #13

"I am not a Number, I am a Free Man"- Maiden

"The moments we share today, Inspire the stories we tell tomorrow"

Instead of measuring the temperature you can just use a magnet. 1095 becomes non-magnetic when hot enough to temper.

Quote Originally Posted by AttilaTheHun View Post
    Instead of measuring the temperature you can just use a magnet. 1095 becomes non-magnetic when hot enough to temper.
    perhaps I don't quite understand the process, I thought you forged the steel, quenched it, then later temper it for X amount of time at maybe 375F ??
    BeckerHead #13

1 Forge to basic shape. 2 Grind or file to shape. 3 Heat to hardening temperature and quench. 4 Temper at desired temperature for X amount of time. It depends on what you are going to be using the knife for, on what temerature you temper the blade at.