Thread: Zero Tolerance Model 0350TS Assisted VS Kershaw Rake Assisted

Zero Tolerance Model 0350TS Assisted VS Kershaw Rake Assisted

ADVERTISEMENT
    I'm looking for a little help. I'm getting a new knife, honestly, it's only going to be carried as protection. I'm not in any way against guns, I just prefer a knife. Attacks occur in close quarters, and knives don't jam or need re-loading. I'm also a Combatives instructor, and during a lot of more recent drilling, I have found (duh) a standard folder just isn't quick enough, and sometimes, even with practice, under duress, it can be difficult to actually lock open. I normally carry in rotation either my Emerson Commander or CQC-7B, or a Spyderco Tenacious. I'm looking for a good assisted opener, and have narrowed it down to either a ZT 0350TS, or a Kershaw Rake. I've never got my hands on a ZT, but heard a lot of great things. I handled the Rake yesterday, and really liked it. My budget for this purchase is around $150. I'm going to have to stay clear of full auto knives. They are legal in the state I currently live, but I will be moving soon, and won't be as far as I can tell. Any thoughts on these two, or another recommendation is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Hmmm... I have the 350. Love it! as far as for self defense.... i would prob go more the rake way. The blade shape on the zt is more for cutting and survivalist tasks. The zt is alot heavier, so i guess that would be a plus if you used it to whip the guy. I'm not sure how fast the rake deploys, but the zt is fairly fast. Not as fast as my scallion*duh*:P

Rake is nifty, and i am a diehard Kershaw fan... that said, my next purchase will be a ZT

I don't think there's any room to criticize either of them, but ZT makes some kickass knives