Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 41 to 60 of 72

Thread: Somebody convince me I'm making a bad choice...

  1. #41
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    High Desert SoCal
    Posts
    954

    ADVERTISEMENT
    Quote Originally Posted by Erin Burke View Post
    Hey dude... I don't want to be argumentative but ... have you tried this??? The KBAC-27D seems to be a robust piece of equipment... but I'm imagining overcurrent protection coming into play with this scenario... or worst case, a puff of smoke and no more VFD.
    A lot of motors and drives are dual voltage rated; wiring it one way or the other will allow it to run on either 110V or 220V. I don't think javand was recommending anything dodgy.

  2. #42
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Pinole, CA
    Posts
    7,638
    As far as the VFD choice, I'm currently working on a couple grinder projects. One of them uses a 2hp Leeson TEFC 3450RPM motor with a KBAC 27D controller that will run on 220 to power my new horizontal grinder. That combo recommendation came directly from Brian Fellhoelter. Last time I checked, Brian knew what he was talkin' about!

    J, if that motor and controller works for Brian it will certainly work fine for whatever you and I have to throw at it!

  3. #43
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Lehi, Utah
    Posts
    4,170
    Thanks Jonny, I agree. Or maybe I should say, if it's good enough for you it's good enough for me.

    My neighbor came over and figured out a good way to get 220 to my shop.

    My revised plan is a 2 hp motor on the KBAC 27D running on 220 power. I won't know what to do with all that power, mwuahahahaha.
    - Jared
    joeserknives.com
    Follow me on Facebook at J. Oeser Custom Knives

  4. #44
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Pinole, CA
    Posts
    7,638
    Sounds good J I think that will be a solid setup that will serve you well! I think we take things to the overkill level sometimes with our setups. My KMG currently has a 1.5hp Leeson motor with the step pulleys. I normally use the middle speed to do most of my grinding work and I have never, not even once stalled the belt during normal bevel grinding, profiling, or anything else. It's got great power.

    We love to say that we were able to take a 1.5" square bar of steel and put every ounce of our weight into the platen, shooting five foot long spark rockets all over the shop without ever bogging down the grinder......but I can't say I ever really needed that kind of performance to make a knife. Sure it's nice to have a hog monster of a grinder but I wouldn't lose a wink of sleep over the setup you're putting together. You're gonna haves FUN!!

  5. #45
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Lehi, Utah
    Posts
    4,170
    ROFL, I just visualized those spark rockets flying. Then I pictured the look on my wife's face watching me do that. Hilarious!

    Oh yeah, I'm going to have FUN!!
    - Jared
    joeserknives.com
    Follow me on Facebook at J. Oeser Custom Knives

  6. #46
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    6,092
    Quote Originally Posted by J. Oeser View Post
    A modified 1x42 Kalamazoo and I am really starting to feel limited by it. I need more speed, power and surface area.
    OMG, this is so humbling.
    I too, use a 1x42 for small blades. Can I have yours when you upgrade? it must contain some magic not found in my Craftsman. :-D

    -Daizee
    Beckerhead #int((2/3)*100)
    My knives, etc.: http://crosstownoutdoors.wordpress.com/
    "You have to admit it's a good looking heart attack." --Tradewater

  7. #47
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Lehi, Utah
    Posts
    4,170
    Ha ha, no I better keep it. I plan to keep using it to put on edges and do some detail work. Plus it's my good luck grinder.

    Thanks man!
    - Jared
    joeserknives.com
    Follow me on Facebook at J. Oeser Custom Knives

  8. #48
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Hogging off steel on a belt grinder in (Gods Country) MD.
    Posts
    9,073
    Jared, all I've ever used was a 1 1/2 hp Leeson Farm Duty motor with my KMG with the 3 step pulley. It runs on 110. I've done thousands of blades with no bog down even doing large, thick blades. Just keep the drive belt tight enough and you'll have no issues with bogging down the grinder.
    Scott

  9. #49
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Casa Grande, AZ
    Posts
    74
    I havent' read all the posts, but here's some stuff I've learned.

    KBAC27D....110V or 220V input easy to switch voltages, just dont plug it in to 220V untill you switch the jumper in the box. It will run up to 2hp motor on 220 or 110, does suprisingly well on 110.

    KBAC29.......220 volt input, can run 2hp on single phase input 3hp on 3 phase input.

    I'll take a 2 hp 1725 motor over a 3hp 3450 rpm motor. This depends on the rpm range you will be running. If you plan on ever running a small wheel attachment, forget about the 3450rpm, MY OPINION, from my experience.


    There is a new controller out from KB that will do 3hp on single phase power. I think it's the KBAC29-1P, the only problem with 3 hp/3450 rpm motor is you lose a LOT of torque at slower belt speeds (my experience).

    Also whatever VFD you use, I would add a fuse to the power in. The 27d typically calls for 25amp on 110v, and 20 amp on 220v. It's real simple my grinders use the same fuses as my truck, and I still get them from NAPA. It's cheap insurance.

    Don't talk on the phone, while checking jumper settings, with the grinder plugged in......nothing like near electricution while explaining settings to prove ones intelligence

  10. #50
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    10,516
    Quote Originally Posted by travis wuertz View Post
    Also whatever VFD you use, I would add a fuse to the power in. The 27d typically calls for 25amp on 110v, and 20 amp on 220v. It's real simple my grinders use the same fuses as my truck, and I still get them from NAPA. It's cheap insurance.
    Should that be 15amp ?

  11. #51
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Casa Grande, AZ
    Posts
    74
    I'm glad your paying attention, cause it sounds funny, but bigger duse on 110V.

    From KB's manual page 10, table 4.

    The input line should get fused with a:
    25amp fuse on 115volts
    20amp fuse on 208/230



    The higher the voltage, the less amps to get the same power. 110v grinders will blow the 20 amp fuses pretty easily.

    NOTE: these amperages were out KB's manual and vary for each controller; 24D, 27D, 29.

  12. #52
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Casa Grande, AZ
    Posts
    74
    Fuse not duse, dang "d" right next to the "f"

  13. #53
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Lehi, Utah
    Posts
    4,170
    Quote Originally Posted by travis wuertz View Post
    Fuse not duse, dang "d" right next to the "f"
    I'd hate to see you type a story about ducks.

    Thanks for your help on that Travis. I have the 27D on it's way to me now and need to get the toggle switches ordered up. I'll throw in a fuse as well. One day I will have one of your sweet grinders too. One step at a time now though.
    - Jared
    joeserknives.com
    Follow me on Facebook at J. Oeser Custom Knives

  14. #54
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Lehi, Utah
    Posts
    4,170
    Would this KIT with this FUSE work for running 110 power? I plan to run 110 at first, then once the 220 is hooked up switch everything over.
    - Jared
    joeserknives.com
    Follow me on Facebook at J. Oeser Custom Knives

  15. #55
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    12,449
    Quote Originally Posted by J. Oeser View Post
    ROFL, I just visualized those spark rockets flying. Then I pictured the look on my wife's face watching me do that. Hilarious!

    Oh yeah, I'm going to have FUN!!
    If she sees you doing something that manly, she may make a pass at you, unless you are wearing your frilly fancy girl jeans........then it will just ruin the manly appeal.

    Let's recap......huge shower of sparks with your studly muscles strainining to give your lady a show = amorous wife.


    Same vuisual.......with the addition of faancy girl jeans........no go......






    Any questuions?





    Make sure to post lots of pics! I can hardly conceal my jealousy!

  16. #56
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    1,474
    Sounds like you probably have this figured out now, but I have the 27D w/ 1.5 HP motor on standard household 110 (beware though, the 27D does NOT like GFCI circuits). The only time I have any issues with bogging down the motor are at extremely low RPMs, and it is rare that I run the motor that slowly during normal use.

    If money was really tight for me, I'd be awfully tempted to try out the free 1 HP motor with VFD to start with, and then if I wasn't happy with the performance I'd convert that setup to a disc (or return it to the giver) and upgrade the motor on my 2 x 72.

    Good luck!

  17. #57
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    1,126
    Quote Originally Posted by Erin Burke View Post
    If you check out the KB datasheet for these drives, the KBAC-29 only handles up to 2hp on a 220 single-phase source with a max continuous load current of 6.7amps... the exact same as the KBAC-27D. From what I can tell, the only reason you'd want a KBAC-29 is if you wanted to run a 3hp motor... but then you'd need a three-phase source.
    Erin
    Kbac 29 (1p) model #10001 powers a 3hp on 240 input single phase.

  18. #58
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Lehi, Utah
    Posts
    4,170
    Okay, all the parts are in except my wheels and I have hooked it all up. KBAC 27d connected to 110 power running a 2 hp motor. I adjusted all the trim pot settings according to beaumonts website and switched the jumper to 115. The last question I have is should I switch the jumper from the 2 hp setting it came from the factory to 1 1/2 hp?

    I'm ready to plug it in and run it but I'm chicken.
    - Jared
    joeserknives.com
    Follow me on Facebook at J. Oeser Custom Knives

  19. #59
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Asheville, NC
    Posts
    1,018
    Try it J, either it'll automatically derate it to 1.5hp or it'll run for a few secs and start beeping at you after it stops the motor from an overrage. If it stops it, just reset the jumper lower. Either way it shouldn't damage the vfd, these kbac's are pretty resistant to our idiocy.

    I've had it play out both ways with weird motors, I've tested tons of good, bad, and way over rated hp motors with my 27, and though one real bad motor made me end up having to adjust some pots later for whatever reason, it's still going strong. I still use just it to test scrap motors, since the 29 is on my main grinder now.

  20. #60
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Lehi, Utah
    Posts
    4,170
    Thanks Javan, worked like a charm! Now once the wheels and belts get here I'll be in business!
    - Jared
    joeserknives.com
    Follow me on Facebook at J. Oeser Custom Knives

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •