Thread: Red Alox

Red Alox

ADVERTISEMENT
    Hello this is my first time posting on this forum and the first Vic i've ever owned. The pic i have is from the orginal owners sale thread and i hope he does'nt mind my using it. What i'm wondering is what model this is i'm thinking a Alox Farmer but i don't know much about Vic's just yet other than it seems to be very well made.
    Also is there any way to tell the age because the ad said vintage Alox. The only thing i can tell you is it has brass liners and has five blades. It looks like a big main blade an awl, flat blade screw driver, saw blade, and i'm not sure what the other blade is. Looks like maybe a small screw driver on the tip with another bottle opener and sharpened on the side of it. Well thanks and i wish i had more detailed pics for you guys.

Doug

Yes, this is Farmer model, which was produced in red scales with silver cross until year 2000, after which Victorinox switched to the silver scales with red shield. I am not exactly sure at which point the brass liners were replaced with nickel silver, but my guess would be in the mid-90s. The blades were marked "Elinox" until mid-70s, so yours would be from somewheere between then and mid-90s.
    The Farmer in general, and the "old-cross" version in particular is an excellent SAk and one of my favourite EDC models.

Quote Originally Posted by ufox9al View Post
    Yes, this is Farmer model, which was produced in red scales with silver cross until year 2000, after which Victorinox switched to the silver scales with red shield. I am not exactly sure at which point the brass liners were replaced with nickel silver, but my guess would be in the mid-90s. The blades were marked "Elinox" until mid-70s, so yours would be from somewheere between then and mid-90s.
    The Farmer in general, and the "old-cross" version in particular is an excellent SAk and one of my favourite EDC models.