Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Afghanistan knife

Afghanistan knife

ADVERTISEMENT
    A coworker recently brought me this knife he purchased while in Afghanistan requesting information about it.
    He is wondering if it is a common production or custom knife.
    I have no knowledge on these types of knives.
    Maybe someone in this forum can pass along information on it?

It has a blade of 16" with two markings near the wooden handle.

My photo skills lack much.Attachment 295614Attachment 295615

I don't know much about these either, but I do know that it is called a Khukri. Pronounced as kookree

You might want to bump up the guys at Himalayan Import's Cantina or the IKRHS.com.
    MH370 &MH17, you will be remembered.

Looks...emphasize the word looks...like what is often referred to as a WWI style...I am paraphrasing as I am new to Kukris. I say what I say because of the shape of the blade and the lack of a prominent secondary bevel. Kukri's today are big, thick, chopping beasts. Actual early "war Kukris" were not and were nimble and quick. The shape of the bell (the pommel) seems odd but the picture is too small.

There are millions of what are called "tourist Kukris" manufactured. I remember they used to sell them and I think Pier 1 imports along with those teak boxes, cotton beadspreads and brass objects-de-art from India.

Calling Karda...we need an actual expert (I am not such a person) for a ruling on the field here.

It looks like a nice WWI/Pre-WWI khukri.

n2s
    Tagline:
    There is no good, no evil, no saints, no demons; There are just ordinary people making ordinary choices.

Quote Originally Posted by not2sharp View Post
    It looks like a nice WWI/Pre-WWI khukri.

n2s