Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Rodent 9..The Efficient Chopper

Rodent 9..The Efficient Chopper

ADVERTISEMENT
    Hey, you bunch of Rats..posted this in W&SS as well, but would love your perspective as well..Here’s a review on the Swamp Rat Rodent 9, I appreciate your comments.

Preface:

Been wanting to do a review on a chopper for a while now, and if you don’t like reading novels, I’ll sum up the review of the Swamp Rat, Rodent 9 (R9) with one word: Efficient.
    Efficiency analysis is part of what I do for a living, and that type of critical thinking carries over to any edged tool I have..especially considering a 1lb chopper..I mean if I am going to carry a largish knife around, it has to be worth the effort right? it has to make the cut..(pardon the pun) with regard to a few core needs that I have, namely:

1) Is the Overall weight/length manageable?
    2) Does it chop well?
    3) Does it limb well?
    4) Does it perform well when batonning, or does it wedge, because of the belly thickness behind the edge?
    5) Is it full tang construction?
    6) Is the Steel of good quality, and easy to maintain?
    7) Is it comfortable to use for prolonged amounts of time, in various grips?
    8) Can it perform reasonably well on finer tasks, (whittling/creating wood shavings/curls for fire prep), or does it feel “unnatural” if I choke up on it because it is not balanced for tasks like that?
    9) Is it within my price range?
    10) Does the manufacturer account for what I think a field blade is designed for, or am I stuck if I “abuse” it?

As you can imagine with criteria like that..it shuts the door on a lot of blades..because it has to have one heck of a design in order to have all those bases covered.

Background: