Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: small milling machine

small milling machine

ADVERTISEMENT
    I was thinking of buying a small milling machine to help me cut parts and whatnot, can anyone recommend a decent quality company or specific machine i should look into? if i can swing it i would love to get into a personal size CNC to give me a new hobby to aggravate myself, but i dont even know where to start looking.

cheers

Royce

I've been using a small Sherline mill (made in USA) for around 15 years. Check em out.
    Don
    www.sunfishforge.com

2014 Fisk Micro Show Oct 10-12; Jerry Fisk, John White, JR Cook, Don Hanson III
    Member CKCA, ABS

I like the Sherline I have; its been in use ten years.

The Sherlines are great. They can't do heavy work, but for precision work on small pieces they are excellent.

Stay away from the round column mill/drills. Round column machines are an absolute PITA to set up. If it turns out you need to go a little bit above or below the spindle travel, you're screwed because you have to re-center the whole set up when you move the head.

I wouldn't get the Harbor Freight/Grizzly mini mill that has a tilting square column either, since it lacks some stiffness, but it is better than a round column.

Also, I cannot recommend any lathe/mill combo machine for the same reasons.

Any of the square column mills are excellent once you give them a fluff & buff and get them trammed.

Quote Originally Posted by gomipile View Post
    The Sherlines are great. They can't do heavy work, but for precision work on small pieces they are excellent.

Stay away from the round column mill/drills. Round column machines are an absolute PITA to set up. If it turns out you need to go a little bit above or below the spindle travel, you're screwed because you have to re-center the whole set up when you move the head.