Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need some advice . . .

Question Need some advice . . .

ADVERTISEMENT
    Hi everyone, I'm fairly new to the knife collecting world and could use some advice.

I was thinking about picking up a Gerber Venture, CRKT Foresight and a CRKT Hissatsu Folder (all 3 for a little over $200) or should I wait and save up for a Chris Reeve Large Sebenza? I've never owned a Sebenza but all I hear are VERY good things about them. What should I do? Thanks.

Easy... the Sebenza.
    This could become your fav folder.

Ditto.. Wait and save up for the Seb. Or spend it now on a decent spyderco, benchmade or kai (Kershaw/zt) and use the rest on a good sharpening system if you don't have one
    Up to you

The Sebenza does nothing for me so I won't advise you in that direction. But why limit yourself to just those choices? The quality knives in the price range you're talking about are so numerous it boggles the mind. Find a local shop and do some fondling.
    Take me to church, I'll worship like a dog at the shrine of your lies...

knife collecting is about enjoyment. do whatever makes you happy. some people have to have the best, but others are perfectly fine with less expensive knives.

The sebenza is a favorite for many. I personally don't care for it. The thumb stud sucks, not very comfortable in the hand, doesn't hold an edge long, very very very limited on blade steel.

Check out the Strider SMF. It's a great knife avaliable in many different configurations.

Quote Originally Posted by botdcypher View Post
    knife collecting is about enjoyment. do whatever makes you happy. some people have to have the best, but others are perfectly fine with less expensive knives.
    I'm with this guy! Do what you want! That's what it's all about!

You want "numbers" and immediate satisfaction? Get the three.
    You want anticipation and one great knife? Get the Sebenza.