Thread: BK2 blade integrity/quality control question

BK2 blade integrity/quality control question

ADVERTISEMENT
    Hello all, I am pretty new to the hobby and just bought my first blade. After looking around for months I finally decided on the BK2. It finally arrived today and after careful inspection/appreciation of this awesome beast I noticed something odd on the blade, there is what looks like little holes or pockets on the blade. My question is, will this affect the integrity and strength of the blade? It is still a super thick blade but I wanted to know if this is some sort of a factory defect or am I just worrying about nothing?

Thanks for your help!

by , on Flickr

by , on Flickr

edit: got it.

thanks!
    Last edited by Alive!; 10-09-2012 at 09:04 PM.

Worrying about nothing. You can't hurt that thing, if you tried. The only thing that has claimed the life of a BK2 is throwing it at a tree stump. Hardened steel doesn't do well with impact force.

The "pockets" come from impurities in the steel, that the manufacturer buys from. There is a small margin of what's acceptable in every major knife manufacturing facility on the planet.

If it got made, it passed spec.

If you want some more opinions from other folks that have a BK2, come see us in the BKT forum, we'd be glad to have you stop in.

Moose
    Rum, Sodomy, and the Lash.

^thanks! def glad to hear that. about the sheath, i've read numerous complaints about the older gen sheaths dulling the blade, can someone tell me if i have the updated, non-dulling kind:

20121009_221819

I'm pretty sure that's the new style sheath.
    RP #434 BH #57
    Proud supporter of JK Handmade Knives #61; TM Hunt; Terrio Handmade Knives #458 in RyanW's 2014 GAW

Alive, that's just a cosmetic thing as Moosez stated. It will not affect strength or performance even a little. Nice choice of knives for your first. Keep things sensible and it should last a few generations in your family.

Good pictures too.