1911 Combat Survivor new pictures of the working version

Mark Knapp

Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider
Hi All, I wanted to show you a project I've been working on for a couple of years now. I wanted to do something really cool to celebrate the hundred year anniversary of the Colt 1911 pistol. I decided to build a survival/ combat Bowie on a slimmed down 1911 grip frame and use the magazine for a compartment to house some survival gear.

The first 10 are being donated to the NRA for fund raising auctions. The one pictured here is going to the National Banquet in Pittsburgh the other nine will be at banquets around Alaska.

The blade is 154 CM, 8 inches long, 1 1/2 inches wide and 3/16 inches thick. The overall length is 13 inches.

This one has premium blue mammoth ivory, and some extra special survival stuff in the mag.

I had some partners on this project. Caspian arms made the grip frames available to me at a reasonable price, Ken Jantz at Jantz Knife Supply made the blades for me to my specifications and donated ten for the NRA knives, and my friend Scott Hamann at Metal Magic in Kenai Alaska. was also very instrumental in the building of these knives. The magazine from the knife is functional in a .45 (gives you one more round if you need it) and the knife accepts a fully loaded mag for your .45 if you want to do that.

Inside the magazine in the handle is;
The door of the compartment is a diamond hone
a Leatherman Micro
a magnesium and flint fire starter
a needle for sewing
a length of synthetic sinew for snares, fishing, sewing, a bow string etc.
fish hooks
it has capacity for a .45 round
and a flashlight is on the lanyard.

I think the project is pretty cool, I have had a lot of really good feedback.

Thanks for looking, please let me know what you think.

I just got some really good photos from Coop, here they are.
Knapp_110418-webS.jpg

Knapp_110418B-webS.jpg

2011003s.jpg

20112014s.jpg

20112012s.jpg

2011005s.jpg

1911workingversion.jpg