Advice on making a a big chopper survival knife

Hello, I am relatively new in knife making, and I have only used mystery steels and salvaged steel. I plan on making a big survival knife that I can use for cutting and chopping. I managed to find steel from a big blade that was used for cutting paper sheets in stacks. The problem is that it is around 6,5 mm thick. Is it okay for a knife or is it too thick??

I also have 1.5 mm thick sheets of steel that were used as blades for cutting tobacco in the cigarette factory in my town. Currently they are over 62 HRC, but I am afraid to anneal them because I don't know if I would be able to heat treat them without warping due to them being so thin. Should I work with them as they are, with a lot of cooling down, or can I anneal them first??

The paper cutting blade is probably D2, but don't quote me on that. I definitely wouldn't try annealing either one, as air hardening tool steels (which I'm sure these are some sort of) need very specific ramps, and temperatures. I have the equipment to annealing air hardening steels, and I still won't try it on mystery metal. Even if the big blade is D2, it still wouldn't be my first choice for a chopper. D2 is more for leather working tools, bird and trout's, Skinner's, ect in my mind.

My recommendation would be to order a bar of either O1 or A2 from a machinist supplier (or you can find deals on eBay occasionally, look for Starrett or presco precision ground) These are both very nice to work with, and come dead soft and ground to a fine finish and tolerance. O1 is easy enough to do a decent heat treat (it will make a serviceable knife, but won't perform quite as well as is absolutely possible) with a forge or oxy acetylene torch, and a quench of corn oil, mineral oil, or automatic transmission fluid.
A2 needs a heat treat oven, but it's so commonly used in industry that a lot of machine shops, and any place at all that does work on dies will be able to heat treat it.