1. Welcome to the New & Improved BladeForums. New software info here. Please report problems in Tech Support, and read existing threads before posting! - Spark
  2. I've changed the default forum style to Flat Awesome based on feedback. Don't like it? Click here to change how the forums look Feedback on this is welcome here.
  3. The rules for The Exchange can be found here. Please read and follow them.

Al Mars Real or Counterfit?

Discussion in 'FEEDBACK: The Good, The Bad, The Ugly!' started by infobound1, Sep 7, 2008.

1. infobound1

infobound1

Mar 2, 2006
    I have been collecting Al Mars for about 20 years! Over that time period I have made contact with alot of the Old Time Al Mar Collectors, and handled almost every knife he every produced! I started running into Knives that were vintage and discontinued! (to good to be true) In my quest for more and rarer I bought some knives unknowingly that were counterfit! Subtle differances Boxes, warranty cards, Chops (Al Mars Name in Japanese Character) in the wrong location and logos and stamps not where they should be! I was schooled by a couple of collectors who knew what they were looking at! Basically learning through experiance! Unfortunately some of these counterfit peices are good, very good! My own personal feeling is that the majority of them are made by the same people who made the legitimate Blades! Ebay has been loaded with them off and on for years, and a few years back I started to see them listed on the forumns! To my knowledge there are no so called grey market Al Mars! I am going to use pictures to try and make this clear! Please compare the Knife for Sale Based on a A/M Grunt, along with the Correct version Based on A A/M SERE Limited production run of 200 The only Dessert storm Commemorative produced by Al Mar!

Attached Files:

Last edited: Sep 7, 2008
  2. Haze

Haze

Aug 2, 2004
    Randome pics are not much good.