Big Ole' Bowie {Sheath finished up!}

BenR.T.

Tanto grinder & High performance blade peddler
Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider
First off the pictures are not up to my standards, but there was no way to fit this big guy in my light box!
This is the second hidden tang knife I have ever done, and I really wanted to push myself. It has a bunch of features I have never tried before.
It has a crested spine that transitions into to the clip. The handle is dyed elk antler, and all the fittings are blued mild steel. I tried an etched and 1000grit hand rubbed finish. I also made a matching frog (another first) for the sheath and am waiting on some snake skin to complete the sheath.
It is not perfect, but I learned a lot along the way.
OAL is 19.5", the blade is 13.75" of 5160.
Any and all comments and critiques are welcome!
Thanks for looking.

IMG_1556.jpg

IMG_1570.jpg

IMG_1559.jpg

IMG_1560.jpg

IMG_1572.jpg

IMG_1565.jpg

IMG_1566.jpg

IMG_1568.jpg

That whole thing is pretty cool, but I think that my favorite thing is the combo of texture and polish on the butt cap. Your guard fit looks spot on from here too! Good work!

Outstanding! Fit and finish look top quality! Can't wait to see the whole package!

That's a bad ass Bowie. I really like what you did with the fittings....superb job.

Thanks for the kind words fellas!!

Have you made a blade similar to the Strider RW3--Richard Marcinko VN knife?
Thanks
Bodiebill

No I haven't, but you can shoot me an email if you are interested in a quote.

That's gorgeous, obviously a lot of time spent on things but it pulls it off in an understated way. I love the color of that antler and the hammer finish work.

Red

Great classic bowie, I like the simplicity of design and as Hengelo said, the details show your skill.

How did you attach the butt plate? The elk handle really puts it into the 1800's.

Can't wait to see the sheath.