1. Welcome to the New & Improved BladeForums. New software info here. Please report problems in Tech Support, and read existing threads before posting! - Spark
  2. I've changed the default forum style to Flat Awesome based on feedback. Don't like it? Click here to change how the forums look Feedback on this is welcome here.

BK2 blade integrity/quality control question

Discussion in 'General Knife Discussion' started by Alive!, Oct 5, 2012.

1. Alive!

Alive!

Oct 5, 2012
    Hello all, I am pretty new to the hobby and just bought my first blade. After looking around for months I finally decided on the BK2. It finally arrived today and after careful inspection/appreciation of this awesome beast I noticed something odd on the blade, there is what looks like little holes or pockets on the blade. My question is, will this affect the integrity and strength of the blade? It is still a super thick blade but I wanted to know if this is some sort of a factory defect or am I just worrying about nothing?

Thanks for your help!

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Alive!

Alive!

Oct 5, 2012
    [​IMG]
    by , on Flickr

[​IMG]
    by , on Flickr

edit: got it.

thanks!

Last edited: Oct 9, 2012
  3. Moosez45

Moosez45 Custom Antlers, Factory Knives... Moderator

Jul 14, 2010
    Worrying about nothing. You can't hurt that thing, if you tried. The only thing that has claimed the life of a BK2 is throwing it at a tree stump. Hardened steel doesn't do well with impact force.

The "pockets" come from impurities in the steel, that the manufacturer buys from. There is a small margin of what's acceptable in every major knife manufacturing facility on the planet.

If it got made, it passed spec.

If you want some more opinions from other folks that have a BK2, come see us in the BKT forum, we'd be glad to have you stop in.

Moose

4. Alive!

Alive!

Oct 5, 2012