1. Welcome to the New & Improved BladeForums. New software info here. Please report problems in Tech Support, and read existing threads before posting! - Spark
  2. I've changed the default forum style to Flat Awesome based on feedback. Don't like it? Click here to change how the forums look Feedback on this is welcome here.

First Swamp Rat knife.

Discussion in 'Swamp Rat Knives' started by VolundoftheForge, Jan 4, 2012.

1. VolundoftheForge

VolundoftheForge

Jan 3, 2012
    Hello all, I'm new to the high end knives and wanted to pick myself up a nice little knife by Swamp Rat :) I want a blade that is between 7-9 1/2", 1/4" thick, SR-101 or equal steel, and all the good stuff :p This knife is to serve as a camp knife, survival knife, and defensive blade. My limit is no more than $250. Also, I would like it to be still sold by the company or one of their sites. If you have any suggestions on knives, fitting these parameters or not(May be better for me anyway :p), please let me know :)

2. bld522

bld522

Feb 3, 2004
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2012
  3. VolundoftheForge

VolundoftheForge

Jan 3, 2012
    I had actually looked at that one and the Rodent 9. I like it just the handle worried me as it looks as though it would wear out quickly. also I heard swamp rat knives came with a better out of the box edge and better heat treatment. I was going to get the Rodent but I heard it's a little too top heavy to really make a good Defense knife :p

4. snwbrdr202

snwbrdr202 Gold Member Gold Member

Mar 9, 2009
    Couldn't agree more! You are one lucky man, as the 7-11 is sure to be the new camp knife to beat. 7.5'' of SR-101 with a resiprene handle and a convex saber grind, what else could you ask for?!

5. snwbrdr202

snwbrdr202 Gold Member Gold Member

Mar 9, 2009
    Without going on a tangent, DO NOT WORRY ABOUT THAT! Even if your handle does "wear out," the Yard will replace the handle with a brand new one free of charge :thumbup:

6. bld522

bld522

Feb 3, 2004