Honing oil?

I am just getting into knives and knife sharpening and was wondering what is "honing oil" exactly?

Would it be okay to just use the Ballistol that I use to clean/oil my guns with as a honing oil as well?

Honing oil is generally a light mineral oil. Exact composition will vary by manufacturer. I just buy plain no-name mineral oil from the pharmacy as this is much cheaper than buying any of the branded varieties. Ballistol is mineral oil based so that should work fine.

Agreed. Honing oil = light mineral oil, or sometimes called 'white mineral oil'. Usually pretty colorless, odorless and more 'watery' in viscosity. The pharmaceutical grade (laxative) mineral oil is sometimes called 'heavy mineral oil', because it's a bit thicker. But it's also very pure, and safe for use in food-related tasks.

David

I'd go with WD-40 or Lansky/Norton honing oil. They are formulated at the ideal weight for use with oil stones. Speaking of which, it really does depend on what stone you're using. You don't want to use any oil on a diamond plate or water stones, for example.

You don't want to use any oil on a diamond plate...

I've used a drop or two of honing oil or sewing machine oil on my 29 year old 4" DMT coarse diamond stone since I've owed it. Same as I do my Arkansas hard. I simply wash them with hot water and a drop or two of dish soap when I'm done and thoroughly dry them, especially the DMT. DMT recommends dry use or wet. Water or oil. The important things are to clean it after use and to keep it dry in storage.

Last edited:
If it's working for you, then carry on. But there's no reason at all for you to use oil on your diamond plate. If you want to float swarf, soapy water will do just as good a job with less mess. And DMT does not recommend oil.