1. Welcome to the New & Improved BladeForums. New software info here. Please report problems in Tech Support, and read existing threads before posting! - Spark
  2. I've changed the default forum style to Flat Awesome based on feedback. Don't like it? Click here to change how the forums look Feedback on this is welcome here.

How do you delete old mail from inbox?

Discussion in 'Tech Support, General Q&A, Site Feedback & More' started by Stacy E. Apelt - Bladesmith, May 16, 2017.

  1. Stacy E. Apelt - Bladesmith

    Stacy E. Apelt - Bladesmith ilmarinen - MODERATOR Moderator Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider

    Aug 20, 2004
    I have a nearly full mailbox, but can't seem to find anyway of clearing out old ones I no longer need. Also, what happened to the SENT box?

    I am not really happy with the new system, but that is another matter.
    Also, it is hard to know where a poster lives since the location was removed from the user info header.
    I will quit there.
     
  2. KingMC

    KingMC Sergeant Snark Platinum Member

    Jul 25, 2014
    The 'sent' folder is no longer a thing because both your sent messages and received messages from the same person are all lumped into 1 'conversation' more similar to a forum thread than a set of messages.

    The easiest way to clear your mailbox of old messages is to select the checkboxes next to each conversation you want to remove, and it'll give you a button to 'leave conversation' which removes the conversation from your inbox. You can click the 'select all' to grab all conversations displayed at the time, so you can delete a full page of old 'conversations' at once.
     
  3. Stacy E. Apelt - Bladesmith

    Stacy E. Apelt - Bladesmith ilmarinen - MODERATOR Moderator Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider

    Aug 20, 2004
    Thanks
    Wouldn't "Delete" have made more sense than "Leave Conversation" ? .... just kidding .... well not really :)
     
  4. KingMC

    KingMC Sergeant Snark Platinum Member

    Jul 25, 2014
    Actually, the new messaging system allows for more than two people to be in the conversation at the same time, so if you were in a conversation with at least 2 other people you may no longer want to get messages from that conversation but deleting it would be unfair to the other members of the conversation, so leaving it is more reasonable.
     
  5. knarfeng

    knarfeng senex morosus moderator Staff Member Super Mod Moderator

    Jul 30, 2006
    If the member has listed his location, it will be in the popup that appears when you click their name or avatar.
     
  6. Stacy E. Apelt - Bladesmith

    Stacy E. Apelt - Bladesmith ilmarinen - MODERATOR Moderator Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider

    Aug 20, 2004
    I understand that you can find it, but it used to be right there for everyone to see without clicking this and that. In shop talk, advice is often very location sensitive. Say a poster asks where to find a certain product. Depending on where he lives, the answer will, be different. Many of the answering posters won't bother to click and read the user info, so many of the advice posts may be useless.
     

Share This Page