Lined Sheaths , Real benefits or added complication?

I have my own opinion about lined sheaths , but I'm interested in what others think .
I would like to know what are the advantages of a lined sheath and are there any disadvantages .
Does a lined sheath protect the knife better ?
Are there performance benefits of lining a sheath ?
Or is it just cosmetic and a show of maker skill and ability ?

For the record , I've become a bit of a lined sheath fan , but not in a traditional way ( I'll explain that a bit better if a few others comment and contribute with their views )

Ken

Hey, Ken. I'm not very experienced at sheath making yet, but love the look of a lined sheath. For me, at my skill level, it's definitely an added complication--but worth the effort when it turns out nice. I've yet to settle on what I think is the best material for lining....I haven't worked with enough leathers at this point to figure out my overall preference. I add lining more for aesthetics so I'm interested to see if the more experienced folk think it adds performance and protection.

Amy

This subject could easily go down the road of "hand stitching vs machine stitching" but I hope that is not the case. First we have to make some assumptions, one of which is that the best grade of materials is used in each case.

It is generally accepted fact that many materials including leather when laminated are stronger than a single ply of the same thickness. Therefore if strength and durability is a desired factor lining could or would be considered a benefit.

If the lining has a top grain and that grain is exposed on the interior, then the abrasive wear on the item contained is greatly reduced, hence another benefit.

A nicely lined item has the edge when it comes to pure aesthetics so that is another benefit, perhaps small, but none the less a benefit.