New Breaching Hawk Coming Soon

Huntsman Knife Co.

Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider
I've been working on developing a breaching hawk for a few months now and the project has finally come to fruition. I have a small prototype run of 8 of these I will be finishing in a few weeks as soon as my surface grinder is up and running.

These pieces are 80CRV2 from Aldo and have a DHT with a 57-58 edge and a spring tempered body. They are 3/8th thick and will have a tapered tang. The scales will be micarta. G10 or wood, and will likely be two piece scales. One for the top portion and one for the bottom portion. I'm dying to get to work on these but will have to wait until the new wheel for my surface grinder comes in to taper the tangs. That will probably be 3 weeks from now. I'm extremely behind in the shop as is but I will try to make these a priority as soon as the contact wheel arrives.

These are designed purely for breaching and will hit like a mofo. Even without the tapered tang they have extreme forward weight due to the thickness of the material. This is a big hawk and is nearly 15 inches long and 7 inches wide. Can't wait to see what it can do.

20131101_192017_zpsa1aaa3a8.jpg

20131010_190612_zpsedf1446a.jpg

Last edited:
Hey guys,

Thanks for the interest. To answer some questions-

I can do whatever the customer wants with the poll. Spike, chisel, or flat hammer at no extra cost. The standard will be a chisel.

As for price I think they will be right around $400 shipped with a sheath but that number may change slightly based on how long they take to make.

This is a very small prototype run. I will make any design changes necessary based on customer and professional input and if people like them I will do a big run in the future.