1. Welcome to the New & Improved BladeForums. New software info here. Please report problems in Tech Support, and read existing threads before posting! - Spark
  2. I've changed the default forum style to Flat Awesome based on feedback. Don't like it? Click here to change how the forums look Feedback on this is welcome here.

Working with linen micarta

Discussion in 'Shop Talk - BladeSmith Questions and Answers' started by BartlettBlades, Mar 20, 2017.

1. BartlettBlades

BartlettBlades KnifeMaker / Craftsman / Service Provider Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider

Mar 24, 2016
    Hey guys,

This is my first time working with black linen micarta. I used it as a bolster. Does it always have this greyish look to it? I'm trying to get it closer to a true black, but I don't want to get it to such a high grit that it is slippery. Right now it's at 600 grit, followed with some renisance wax. Any ideas on what I can do? Thanks!

Jeremy

[​IMG]

Sent from my SM-N915V using Tapatalk

2. Kevin McGovern

Kevin McGovern KnifeMaker / Craftsman / Service Provider Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider

Jul 31, 2015
    Even with buffing, it doesn't get much blacker. I prefer G-10 for a blacker look.

Micarta
    [​IMG]

G-10

[​IMG]

3. BartlettBlades

BartlettBlades KnifeMaker / Craftsman / Service Provider Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider

Mar 24, 2016
    Yeah, I like the look of the g10 much better. Going to have to order me some

4. kuraki

kuraki KnifeMaker / Craftsman / Service Provider Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider

Jun 17, 2016
    If you want pure black, paper micarta is the way to go. G10 still has some woodgrain effect. Unless that's ok, I think it looks pretty good.

5. Richard338

Richard338

May 3, 2005
    Some "black" canvas micarta on one of mine was green/grey. An old thread suggested a couple coats of WD40. It did make it much blacker and hasn't faded after several weeks.

6. JoshRG