Assistance with dating and sheath matching please

Hi all, and thanks for the chance to probe your knowledge.
Big Randall fan in South Africa. Only own a handful, but this week I managed to pick up to more from a small collection. Unfortunately the humidity at the coast wasn't good for the carbon blade. Staining, feels smooth though. Stainless one survived well.
Based on the research I was able to do, I expect they are around the mid 70's...but could be later? I am a real novice with these.
Now for my problem. Previous owner only found the stored sheaths later. So we have no idea which sheath went with which knife.
I suspect the rivetted one is the earlier one, right? If so, I had assumed the one with the border patrol handle went in that sheath. Just based on gut feel and looks.
But that strap doesn't fit nicely around the guard.
And if I am correct, the border patrol handle was developed later?
So does that mean the finger groove one goes in the rivet sheath? Because I had assumed that was a later knife. But the rivets would make it the earlier knife.
See my confusion?
In short, can anyone determine which knife is the earlier one, and which goes in the rivetted sheath?
Huge thanks folks.

IMG_0921.JPG IMG_0923.JPG IMG_0924.JPG IMG_0925.JPG IMG_0926.JPG IMG_0927.JPG IMG_0928.JPG

Any pictures of the backs of the sheaths? Any markings on the backs?

No markings. I think this is called a rough back? But I am not sure.
Thanks.

Attachments

• IMG_0941.jpg
    IMG_0941.jpg
    80.1 KB · Views: 10
The older knife goes with the riveted sheath; the handle and guard on that knife has been modified. Still, good score; thanks for sharing. :thumbsup:

Agree :)
Melvin-Purvis, thanks. Do you perhaps have a pic of what it would have originally looked like?
I assume you are saying the carbon steel one is the earlier knife?

Agree :)
Melvin-Purvis, thanks. Do you perhaps have a pic of what it would have originally looked like?