Best ambidextrous folding knife?

Arn

Hey guys newbie here. I'm looking for my first knife and I want an ambidextrous one. So far in my research I've only come across the Benchmade Griptilian that is truly a ambidextrous knife. Are there any others out there that I should consider or is the Grip the best there is?

Also what are the pros and cons of having a straight edge blade vs. partially serrated one?

TIA

Planterz

Іди на хуй Путін!
Any of the Benchmade AXIS lock knives (the Griptillian is only one of quite a few) are 100% ambidextrous.

Spyderco's FRN lockbacks are ambidextrous as well, as well as many others of theirs.

This is a pretty hefty question. Yes, BM's and most Spyderco's are ampy-friendly. Mostly, you will have to stay with back-locks or Axis-lock knock-offs or slip joints.
Or you could get a fixed blade. About 90% of those are ampidextrous.
As for your second part, A half serrated blade will be somewhat wasted unless on a larger knife. There are some who disagree with me, but I like to saw with them. The serrations can also help if you just need some extra bight to make the first initial cut. In these instances, half serrations work pretty nicely.
But the BM Grip is a great first knife. Maybe even step up a bit and get a Ritter Grip. Those things are pretty boss.
-KC

Knifeclerk said:
This is a pretty hefty question. Yes, BM's and most Spyderco's are ampy-friendly. Mostly, you will have to stay with back-locks or Axis-lock knock-offs or slip joints.
Or you could get a fixed blade. About 90% of those are ampidextrous.
As for your second part, A half serrated blade will be somewhat wasted unless on a larger knife. There are some who disagree with me, but I like to saw with them. The serrations can also help if you just need some extra bight to make the first initial cut. In these instances, half serrations work pretty nicely.
But the BM Grip is a great first knife. Maybe even step up a bit and get a Ritter Grip. Those things are pretty boss.
-KC