Frustrated over knife carrying!

Why are people (non knife carriers) so up tight about knife carrying? The intention of most people (speaking on behalf of all forumites, i think) are good! I basically use it for utility and in rare (maybe never) occasion of self defence. I get people bashing me up about it being illegal or "you're dangerious because you have a knife". Have they never thought of 'I might save you in emergency cases?' Basically, i carry a delica on daily basis, and if a fight were to break out with someone armed with a water pipe, i'd be killed. Now tell me which is more dangerious? Can someone express their thoughts over this?

[This message has been edited by keninshiro (edited 04 August 1999).]

I've been hearing those things from non knife people for ten years. It doesn't go away. The best thing you can do is try to educate them, because that's basically the problem. Hollywood has made knives into the tools of the 'Bad Guy' and society has fallen into a pattern of fearing anything that might prove dangerous. My favorite response to the 'you're dangerous because you have a knife' thing is "well, if I give you the knife, and then kill you, does that mean that you were more dangerous?"( you should see the looks I get for that one
wink.gif
).
But seriously, people in general seem to have this inexplicable fear of knives. We all use them every single day. It also helps if you don't constantly play with them, or so I've heard
smile.gif

Joe

It also helps if you carry a less hostile looking knife. I used to carry a Spyderco Delica too (and before that, an Al Mar folder), but with all the dirty looks I was getting from my less enlightened friends, I switched to carrying a Swiss knife. You know, one of those new-fangled ones with the locking button. Nice thing is that the blade is still as long (about 2.5 inches). Trouble is I can't open it with one hand like with the Delica.