I want a Griptilian BUT ...

Okay, so first of all, I'm a newbie here. Thanks for your patience.

I played with a Griptilian for all of about 10 seconds this week and it fit my hand like a dream. I LOVE the Axis lock. But I hate the cheap handle material and the reviews of blade play once it breaks in.

My question is: Is there another knife with the Axis lock (or a similar lock) that is better? I love the ergos of the Griptilian. Does anyone recommend the Barrage or another Benchmade? Or would someone recommend something other than a Benchmade?

FYI, I'm not looking for tactical or bushcraft or anything like that. I need a work horse for the day-to-day around the house (not at the office, I just got a Sage 1 for that).

PART 2: My alternative is to get a Spydie PM2. I'm not trying to make it a contest between those two knives as I've read the PM2 has already won. I'll probably just get a PM2 anyhow. But is the Griptilian a compliment to the PM2, or does the PM2 clearly trump the Griptilian in most ways? Is there any point in owning both (other than collecting)?

Thanks!
JW

Last edited:
There are a lot of aftermarket scales for the griptillian.. you might want to look at a ritter grip.

But honestly, 80-99% of spyderco and benchmade knives are a joy to handle and use.

Track down an REI Grip.. g10 on it is excellent.

Spend a little extra and get the benchmade grizzly creek, axis lock, s30v, and nice wood handles...

I use an S30V PM2 and an M390 Ritter Grip as my primary outdoors/camping/field knives. I will use one for a couple of days, then switch to the other and think "oh yeah, I forgot this knife was so great..." and then repeat a few days later.
I don't mind the Grip scales, I bought and then sold some swimming pool G11 Wilkins grips because they didn't add that much to my experience, and they were more expensive than I was willing to keep for no added benefit.