Kitchen Cutlery, what do you use?

Newbie here. Love my ATS-34 auto’s and others, but I can’t find any kitchen cutlery that discloses their blade alloy. (Anything better than Henckel? They don’t disclose their blade composition.) Need something machine washable, do any of the premiere alloys hold up?
TIA

Hi carbon, heavy chinese cleaver, Spyderco Santoku (my favorite), Spyderco parer, Victorinox dinner knives. All except the cleaver have held up well over use. The cleaver shows staining and discoloring over the years but it is said to enhance flavor when cooking in the wok!! Hand washed with S& W(soap and water that is) all my life so can' t tell you about dishwashers.

L8r,
Nakano

------------------
"To earn a million is easy, a real friend is not."

[This message has been edited by Nakano 2 (edited 27 May 1999).]

I've been bugging various knife companies for some time to come up with a kitchen line that we steel elitists will covet to go with our sport-utility foldlers.

Spyderco's kitchen knives are an alloy called MBS-26, and the chemistry is posted on their web page. Their advertised hardness is a couple of points higher than other kitchen knife companies too.

Most kitchen knives, even from "name" knife companies, are alloys optimized for ease of manufacture and maximum stainlessness. ATS34 will get a spot or two from harsh kichen use and harsh kitchen washing, and the kitchen knife companies don't think their customers will pay extra for a knife that will get blemished in the dishwasher, even if it holds an edge better.

Kershaw uses AUS6M. Last year, somebody at Fiskars (Gerber Balance Plus) said they used 440A. Their new marketing person is in dire need of education about steel.

If you want ultimate edge holding in a kitchen knife, at the expense of resilience, go with Kyocera ceramic.