Need a New Belt

I am in need of a new belt. After years of just using cheap leather belts to hold up my ever-growing number of EDC items, they just aren't cutting it anymore. I need a new nylon belt to be used pretty much everyday in jeans and what not. It will be used for EDC purposes as I said already and for other outdoor purposes such as at the shooting range and ATVing. It will need to be able to support pretty much anything I choose to hang on it be it a folder, fixed blade, mtool, occasional pistol and holster, or everything and more at once. I would like it to stay under the $30 price range, but will pay more for higher quality if needed. I have done some research and have came across some belts that seem as though they would fit the bill, but I have no experience with any of them, so I thought you guys would be the best bunch to ask. All recommendations are welcome!!!!

Last edited:
I love my Ares Gear Ranger belt. The Cobra buckle is great, but you have to remove one 1/2 to put it through your belt loops, then thread it back on. Otherwise, it's so stiff that my 40oz gun and holster doesn't even come close to flexing it.
Other belts are probably stiff enough, and less expensive. Look at..
Jones Tactical
Spec Ops

Thanks for the quick response! That Ares is a nice looking belt, but a bit too pricey for me. I have been looking at 5.11 and Specs Ops, but am more impressed with 5.11's stuff. The 5.11 Trainer Belt looks like it could be a winner, but it only comes in 1.5" widths. My ESEE 6 clip plate could fit a 2" belt easily and my XD and Glock mag holders have about a 1 3/4" belt loop, so it looks like I'd have to go with the 5.11 Operator belt so there isn't as much play while those items are mounted on the belt. Any thoughts on those two belts?

Last edited:
The 5.11 belts are not bad.Be sure to take the screws out and put lock tite on them.
I have been wanting to try a Saddleback belt,just have to make myself pony up 96.00.