Test ad

Queen or Benchmade skinner

Hi All
I'm new to the knife hobby, and new to the board.

I'm torn between two knives. I've had a hard time finding info for a comparison between the benchmark and Queen D2 tool steel skinner knives.

It's a forum, so I guess yall like pictures!
The benchmade is this one
http://www.gpknives.com/benchmade-201-activator.html

The queen (which is what I am leaning towards) is this one:
http://www.gpknives.com/queenskinnerhunter.html

I like the price and looks of the queen better.

Anyone had experience with both of these?

Mainly wanting a knife that gets scary sharp, that I can show off to my hunting buds, and clean a deer or two on occasion.

I also really like the Anza line, but have no idea if it's as good as the others. http://www.anzaknives.com/

Welcome to BF. If I were given the choice of the 2 I'd go for the Queen. Has that "classic" skinner look and that Maple is beautiful! Performance wise they are both good sheath knives and if properly cared for the D2 will serve well and certainly skin a few bucks!

The queen Would be my pick due mostly nostalgia and the excellent blade profile however with that being said like all queen knives it will need a serious sharpening/reprofiling out of the box.

You think it would be a matter of pride for a knife company to have their knives sharp before sending them out.

I spent $60 on a small, 3" lockblade pocketknife for my Dad for Christmas. I was embarrassed when the thing was dull out of the box. Actually they only sharpended one edge on the blade!

I'm not an expert at sharpening......I tried to sharpen it up some for him......it still wasn't very sharp when he left. I really liked that queen skinner but don't know if I will buy another one of their high priced knives.