Recommendations on a Forge Build

Hello all,

I'm new to forum and thought this might be a good place to get some advice on building a forge.

First a little about myself since this is my first post. I'm a power engineer (steam engineer) by profession but grew up on a farm ranch. Also attended college for heavy duty mechanics and apprenticed as that for a short time.

I got interested in forging blades (as a hobby) from watching forged in fire (who doesn't). I realize that the show only shows a fraction of what is involved, but it's got my son's and myself interest going. I purchased quite a few books on the knife making process and Ben reading everything I can about it and blacksmithing in general.

I've got most tools (except the fancy belt grinders, which I plan on making down the road) but want the build a forge.

So my question is about materials. I've scrounged up a 10" dia. X 16" long X 3/8" thick chunk of pipe. That I plan on turning into my forge. Is this pipe big enough for a forge? By the time I put a couple of layers of insulation the inside will be about 6" dia.
I've also wrangled up some white high temp insulation that might be suitable for the inside. Does anybody know if this is "Kaowool"?

Sorry for the long winded post and all replies are greatly appreciated.
71fe821fe46a2cf3ccf395ae84bbb5bb.jpg
18e6b4ef4d06e3178d53b7aef33ad661.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

That pipe is more than sufficient. Your insulation looks like ceramic wool, but I don't know how to tell for certain. You might peel off a puff and heat it with a plumbers torch to see if it disintegrates.

It doesn't look like kaowool to me. I would set it aside and buy some known grade wool. "High temperature" means different things in different applications. As an insulation wrap on a water heater, it may mean 400F, as refractory insulation in a forge it may mean 3000F. That looks like a paper backed fiber glass or mineral fiber insulation ... which will not work.