1. Welcome to the New & Improved BladeForums. New software info here. Please report problems in Tech Support, and read existing threads before posting! - Spark
  2. I've changed the default forum style to Flat Awesome based on feedback. Don't like it? Click here to change how the forums look Feedback on this is welcome here.

A Little About Me and My Knives

Discussion in 'Doyle Knives' started by Doyle, Mar 4, 2013.

1. Doyle

Doyle

Sep 3, 2006
    Hello Everyone,
    My name is Patrick Doyle, and I love knives! In fact I'm obsessed with everything about them.
    First let me start by saying that I'm really looking forward to being a part of this forum, and bringing all of you the best knives that I can.
    So here's a little info about me, the man behind the blades. I'm 34 year old knife maker living/working in Howell, Michigan. I've been learning the art of knife making for a little over 4 years now, but I've only really taken it seriously for about 18 months. Now it's literally all I think about.
    It all started when I was about 10 years old and received Bob Loveless's book "How To Make Knives", after looking at the pictures, I grabbed an old file and went to work on the bench grinder, needless to say I didn't get very far! Now fast forward into my late 20's, my parents moved and left me with my old box of "toys", a few old knives and tomahawks from my black powder shooting days. I started to modify those, and then everything snowballed from there. I found Wayne Goddard's "$50 Knife Shop" and started to teach myself how to make knives again. Fast forward and here I am today.
    During the non knife making years I earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in Journalism from Oakland University, and have worked as a professional drum and keyboard tech for the last 10 years touring with the band O.A.R.(Of A Revolution).

Now a little about my knives-