Commander Lock Failures?

Has anyone had or seen or heard of a Commander lock failing at any time? I ask as I am thinking about buying one.

Thanks for your replies.

------------------
Harry

Toujours l'audacite!

I've been using Commanders for the last two years. I use mine extensively and demo the wave daily.

When helping out a buddy at gunshows and LE Trade shows, I may open mine a couple of hundred times a day. Strong hand front pocket, strong hand back pocket, support hand front pocket, support hand rear pocket (I'm not near as good drawing with my support hand as Harry Humphries).

I also have a large group of friends and coworkers that carry Commanders, never have I seen a lock failure.

Hope this helps

John Hollister

Thanks John, much appreciated.

Anyone else with an observation on this topic?

Harry

I can only dream of having the experience in these matters that John has, but in the short time I have had mine I have opened and closed it well over 100 times per day. This includes snap (centrifugal force) openings, hard and fast Wave openings, and standard thumb disk openings. After the lock developed a "memory" of where it liked to seat, it has engaged at the same spot every time without fail and with no sign of weakness. But, I am only a freshman in the arena of knife knowledge, so...

-Scott

I have only had my Commander for a short time now but, I love it. I am constanly drawing it or flicking or opening in all sorts of manners and have been extremly pleased with the action, the lock, and the over-all feel of the g-10. No complaints here.

Gary

Now what about spine whack tests and twisting of the blade that could cause the lock to fail? If the liner lock is good, then this should not be an issue. Otherwise if it fails, how then can a Commander be truly called a hard use knife?

Harry