[Contest] Any love for the Fehrman Thru Hiker?

'Cuz there's no love here!

792850895_3ybDp-L.jpg

My problem with this knife is that I never found the handle to be comfortable. I tried...really tried. I mean, what's not to like about 3 inches of Fehrman S3V? But the bumps and curves are in the wrong spots for me and I never use it.

So I'm giving this one to a good home:

Post why you think you need this knife...a Thru Hiker...despite it's weird handle.

I'll pick a winner at random, but you must have some story or reason to own this knife. I'll pick the winner tomorrow around 1800 MST.

Bonne chance!

(Note the knife is in good condition and comes with a kydex neck sheath, but as seen in the picture, the finish does have a small chip near the tip)

Ha. My first post on this forum and it's going down like this!!

Why do I need a small knife? Well, I guess I don't really need it. I do like it, though, and I don't currently own a working fixed-blade.

I'm just getting into making knives. Made one a long time ago and misplaced it. Too bad, too, as it had a nice braintan/rawhide sheath with it.

When I look at your blade, I can see how difficult it might be to hold onto and work with. The handle is mighty short and thin.

But, there's a puzzle to be solved and I see taking it to visit my 12" disc grinder and redoing the handle to take some micarta slabs. Maybe a chili pepper handle to increase the length and give it a bit of palm swell.

Another option would be to grind it to a stick tang and use a bit of the antler I have laying around to give it a nice old-school look.

I'm currently working to reshape a Russel Green River knife to a better profile/shape and better handle material, so I know how fun it is to take a so-so knife and turn it into something sweet that you can actually use.

Small knives rock, and I'd love the chance to see what I can do with yours.