Recommendation? How to repair bone knife scales

Howdy -

I'm brand new here, real name's Sam. I'm 72, retired, single and loving it, although I do have a wonderful GF who has put up with me for the last 8 years. I'm an Air Force vet from the Viet Nam years. I spent two years in Germany, where I picked up a knife that I brought back. It's got bone handles, which is the crux of my post.

I had a roach problem at my first house, and roaches got into the drawer where I had this knife and ate holes in the bone handles. I've been trying to come up with a way to repair them short of just replacing the scales, which I don't want to do. I'm looking for suggestions on how I can repair these scales so that they at least don't look so bad. I attached a couple of pics to illustrate the damage.

Any suggestions will be deeply appreciated!

knife-1.jpg

knife-2.jpg

Handles are actually cattle horn. One of the fixes for this type of thing is grinding a horn or hoof (same base material - Keratin) into powder, and mixing it with epoxy or super glue, and filling the pits and cracks. Another way is just using tinted epoxy. You'd need to be really careful around the safety, and the switch so as not to gum it up. This would be a tough job for the button side :(.

Thanks. That's been one of the conundrums that have dogged me - how to work around the safety and the button. My brother makes knives - he probably will have some epoxy and tint that I can work with.

Welcome to Bladeforums DaSOB.

I think those handles might be beyond practical repair, particularly if you want them to look like horn. Also, it's impossible to tell for sure from the pics, but it looks like the button side scale might be eaten out from the inside (beetle larva), which could leave the scale prone to breakage. Filling small holes with epoxy is one thing, but trying to replace large missing sections of handle can be another.