Recommendation? Magnifier for sharpening?

Hello, all. I'm new to sharpening, and there's always something that I need to do, to buy, or to check out. Now, I'm checking out magnification. What do some of you use to see your edges, both as-you-go and the end result? I'd thought of a jeweler's lamp, but what magnification? I have a set of loupes, but I want to be able to hold and pass the knife under the magnifier. Anyway, I'd appreciate any suggestions.

I've tried a whole bunch of things.

For holding and passing, I've settled on the Optivisor, which you wear on your head. Plenty of room for glasses. Consider carefully the tradeoff between focal length and magnification. I think the one I got has an 8 inch focal length, which is comfortable to work with, and then I got the swing-down 2.5x booster magnifier so I can take a closer look when I want. There are also lighted headset magnifiers, but I never hit one that I liked -- I think I just don't like the extra weight on my head.

For an even closer look in a portable format, I often use pen-type lighted pocket microscopes, 25X and 50X, that I got from a place called Production Automation Corporation. I pull those out much more often for razors than for knives, though.

I have a pair of Craft Optics magnifying glasses. Use them for all sorts of things, including sharpening.

Pros: They're great for this, just work really well. Took me maybe 5 minutes to get used to them. I changed the padding on the nose rests, which didn't work for me.

Cons: They're expensive, and you look like a nut wearing them, if that matters to you.

CraftOptics_red_2018-1024x819.jpg

Last edited:
Handheld loupes are ok in a pinch but not what I prefer to use.

While sharpening I only wear my usual reading glasses, and primarily rely on good lighting and my fingers/feel to gauge my progress.