Maryland knife laws.

zach2556

Banned
So when I first got my buck 110 I read up a little bit on knife laws and it said that any knife that folds into the blade and isn't a switchblade that its considered a pen knife which there is no legal length to them. Which means I can EDC my 110 right? Correct me if I'm wrong.

Another question I have is, is it legal to carry a fixed blade on me? I don't nessisarily think I will but one time when I first got my buck 119 and I put it in the sheath and put it on my belt and ended up going to get a drink with my brother and told him that I can't go into buy them because I have it on me and he said how stupid it is that I carry it with me and I told him I wouldn't carry it all the time because I thought they are illegal to carry with you. He said that his friend carries a fixed blade with him everyday, now just because his friend carries one doesnt mean its legal right? I just wanted to make sure.

Thanks
--Zach

Let's start with "I'm Not A Lawyer".

But my buddy is a cop, and he says MD doesn't have a length limit on folding knives.

And I think you can carry a fixed blade, as long as it's not concealed. That might not include going to a bar, though.

Zach your definition of penknife is indeed spot on. Maryland has no length limit on non-automatic folders and this was established in Mackall V. State 1978.

This same case was invoked in a lawsuit known as Sorrell v. McGuigan 2002. McGuigan, a police officer, arrested Sorrell for carrying a folding knife (the reason for the search was honest mistaken identity). Sorrell was never prosecuted, sued McGuigan for false arrest and won. The judge pointed out very bluntly that McGuigan was completely wrong about the law and cited all the case law showing that the "penknife" exception is pretty rock solid.
I have heard some cities have knife legislation, but I have yet to find any that restrict things more than the state.