Moore Maker

I am just looking for a general consensus on Moore Maker. They look like good 'users', but are they worth collecting from a fit 'n finish perspective?

Thanks in advance.

I have three of their stockmen, a 3-1/4" yellow bone, a 3-7/8" stag, and a 4-3/8" natural bone.
Fit, finish and materials are above average in all three. I like 'em a lot.

They look like good 'users', but are they worth collecting from a fit 'n finish perspective?
IMO no. They are good users, but you pay a premium for the Moore Maker name. The problem is that these knives do not exhibit a level of fit and finish commensurate with their price tag. I'm talking about the line with bone covers (i.e., rebranded Queens), I have no experience with the Camillus and Bear & Sons knives.

- Christian

I am a huge fan of Moore Maker tools, Matador is just right down the road from me. I really like supporting a local Texas company, and yes I know the knives aren't made in Texas. I have tried and tried to like Moore Maker knives and I just can't do it. I have handled a lot of them and have yet to see one that was up to snuff. The problems I see most is scales that are too small and terribly uneven grinds. In my experience it's also pretty common to find gaps along the back springs. One other personal problem I have with them is their trappers. I just don't like the shape of the spey blade, there's not enough belly and it needs to be more round on the stabby end. Moore Maker makes awesome fencing tools, like their pliers and wire grabber, their dehorning spoons are top notch but their knives leave a lot to be desired. This is all my opinion and is to be taken with a grain of salt.

Ben