My 'Famous' M43 Kukri

This is the M43 Kukri I used to build a couple trappers cabins and several dozen other shelters during my several year survival living slog. I ordered it from Yangdu through snail mail as I didn't have much access to the Internet in those days. It is a Bura made blade. The sheath was rough when I got it....and use has made it a bit rougher.

IMG_00000016_zps2dbab2e3.jpg

IMG_00000018_zps435c117a.jpg

IMG_00000017_zpsd6e4dfbf.jpg

This last pic shows the Bura blade in the old style with one of the new type.

IMG_00000020_zpsfb9bcb18.jpg

Hope you all enjoy....and I hope all the pics post as I'm very new to this.

Last edited by a moderator:
That's a fine looking blade. If I had needed any more convincing that the M-43 is my next HI knife this would have cinched it. Was the M-43 your go-to utility blade for the duration of your wilderness living?

Where were you holed up for that period?

I have friends and relatives that built a "squatters cabin" about 40 years ago. Reachable only by snowmobile. They used it for a few seasons, then got wise and quit (something about it being a crime!)

Yes Torm it was. It was backed up by an R10 later, after a Camillus Pilot's survival knife.

The M43 is such a winner due to its design improvements over the WWII. It chops like a maniac while being very fluid and nimble in the hand. It's point is on centerline of thrust with the hand in a natural position which makes it even more efficient in combative applications. As to utility the Kukri is more versatile than any other single tool I have ever found. It even makes a terribly efficient drawknife, which comes in handy when making bows and throwing sticks.

It is still my favorite knife, though I have several more these days.

I really wish I had the knowledge to make and post videos as I could share a wealth of techniques in the survival use of this blade.

BigFatty