My First Case... with a scratch

I am new to traditional knives. After doing some research, I decided on the Case SBJ with CV blades to be my first nice traditional. I just got it today and I love it. But I did notice a small scratch (?) on the blade. Is this normal? I doubt it is but figured I would ask. The scratch is hard to pick up with a fingernail so i dont think it is very deep, but it is definitely noticeable to the eye. My question is.. will this affect the usability or durability of the knife? If it will just affect the aesthetics, I can live with it, but I do not want to jeaopardize the future (or present) of the knife. Everything else with it is perfect. Worth sending back to either Case or the dealer? My only problem sending it back really is that I would be without the knife for quite some time as I wait out the process. What do you think? Does this type of scratch affect anything besides looks?

sbj.jpg

Looks like the blade made contact with the liner?

If you intend to use it, don't worry one bit. It will acquire many more scratches :D

I don't think it has any affect on functionality, etc. It only affects your joy of the purchase and so forth. If you are going to use it, its going to develop its own scratches and marks and patina, and you might try to just ignore it until it is subsumed by the other dings and scratches you are going to put on it. But if it bothers you greatly - and I can understand why it would - it might be best just to send it back. So it really boils down to your comfort level. But I'd say it has no affect on function or durability or anything like that.

Functionally, a non-issue most likely. Check to see if the edge itself is rubbing against a liner or adjacent blade. If the cutting edge is rubbing, then that could be an annoying maintenance issue, in keeping the edge sharp in that spot. Otherwise, if not rubbing the edge, I personally wouldn't worry about it.