New to DE

After stumbling across this portion of the forum, I found DE razor shaving to be very interesting. So I think I am going to take the plunge and give it a try. I am in the military so shaving every day is a must. I've been using an electric razor for a couple years because I refuse to buy expensive disposable ones, but I am never satisfied with the closeness of the shave. So this sounds like it can be very economical after the initial purchase of the razor and brush, and also provide an excellent shave.

I've been keeping up with some of the threads about soaps, different razors, and brushes, so I think I have decent idea of what to start with. My wife wants me to wait so she or somebody else can give it to me as a Christmas gift, but I don't think I can wait that long. I may go ahead and make a trip to The Art of Shaving, or make online purchases within a week or two.

Just thought I would share you guys have potentially hooked another DE shaver. Thanks for all the info.

The up-front investment can seem stiff. Razor, brush, bowl, soap, blades, it can be $100 easily. But it pays for itself quickly because you do save about a dollar per day over what cartridges and cans would cost. Your shave will be 10 to 100 times better than cartridge and can, and that shave would be 100 times better than electric. So, if you're going from electric to DE, get ready for a vast improvement. Just keep in mind that it does take a month or two to get -- as I love to say -- "dialed in" on any new shaving approach.

+1 to what Gollnick said. You are going to enjoy it! Welcome to the wet shaving community. :D It sounds like you did your research and are going about it the right way, so I'm sure you will be fine. I always offer the following three tips to anyone getting into wet shaving, and I would humbly provide them here just for your reference: