Preliminary Review Garmin Oregon 450T GPS

kgd

Last week I received a Garmin Oregon 450T GPS with built in Canadian Topo maps at 1:100,000 scale. This is a rather expensive unit but it has features that I needed for work and seemed like a great equipment upgrade over my e-trex Legend which I've been using for about 10 years. I've also borrowed and used my buddies Garmin 60CSX and know a little about this version of mapping GPS units.

The Garmin Oregon Series is a touchscreen which is a bit of a new one for me. It has its drawbacks on some things and advantages on others. One drawback is that Garmin touchscreen does not work very well in very cold weather, or you have to keep it inside your jacket to get it to work. The other main draw back is that some of the features are slower to access using the touch screen compared to button systems. For example, using the page button on the other garmins let you rapidly cycle through compass/track/map pages ect. On the touch screens you have to hit the menu button first and then find the screen you want to access and bump it with your finger.

On the other hand, typing in long waypoint names is a breeze. Another super nice feature is your ability to scroll through the map on the map page by swiping your finger across the screen. This lets you take a look at whats ahead of you terrain wise and you can even change the scale while you are browsing the map away from your current position. This then interacts with a simply outstanding feature of the 450T. When you are navigating on the map you can tap the screen at an interesting point and it will place a pin where you tapped it. You can then reposition the map to fine tune where the pin is. Tap the pin again and it will ask you if you want to save the pin location as a waypoint. Given that the unit has a topo map, this makes 'on-the-fly' route planning really easy and fun!