Wicked edge..pro pack 1 vs pro pack 2?

I'm a total newb at sharpening. From what I've read, I should be able to get the results I want from the wicked edge. I just sold my sharpmaker, because I didn't have the two hours it took to get something decent. Anyway, haven't read up on the wicked edge for a while. To my amazement, the new "arms" are an "accessory"!? I was sure they would have been an upgrade at least. My question is: Will I be missing out by not purchasing the pro pack 2? From what I remember, the new arms were supposed to "fix" problems the original ones were having?

Hi - there are a lot of systems out there. Among clamping/rod guided systems I think that Wicked Edge is the best - but depending upon needs it isn't for everyone. It sounds like speed of the work is among your concerns, and the Wicked Edge is definitely among the fastest. If you decide to get one, I'm confident you will be happy with the edges you'll be able to produce. Were you using the diamond rods on your sharpmaker? How much repair work were you trying to do?

I'm not sure how to address your concern about the ball joint arms being an accessory vs an upgrade. Wicked Edge calls the arms an "upgrade" to the basic sharpener system - WE100 - and sells them under the category of accessory as do we. You can buy them for the WE100 bought by itself or as part of the Pro Pack I (they don't fit the Field and Sport model) or as part of the Pro Pack II. The Pro Pack I and Pro Pack II both include the basic sharpener set up - WE100 - packaged with different stone combinations and bases. The Pro Pack II also includes the Ball Joint Arms kit which you install onto the sharpener. (more on this below if you want more info)